Snip from a posting about making up a Raspberry Pi running QEMU running Windows 98. Mainly a QEMU note.
This part needs to be done on a Windows based computer, not the Pi:
I broke out my copy of Windows 98 and followed this chaps guide to get the .img file needed for the emulator, copied it over to my Pi (into ‘/home/pi’ for ease of access).
Now back to the Pi:
Don’t
worry about the Youtube video in the post above, that is for an older
version of Raspbian, now Jessie has QEMU available and easily obtainable
by typing:
sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install qemu -y
Time to test it. Navigate to ‘/home/pi’ and run:
qemu-system-i386 -localtime -cpu 486 -m 96 -hda win98.img
QEMU
should pop up and begin launching Windows 98, when its loaded have a
click around and then shut it down as you would a normal 98 machine.
When QEMU has shut off it’s time to apply…
******************
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=41&t=117228
I just installed debian jessie on a desktop PC. Ran the update and
upgrade. And then I simply ran the apt-get install for qemu. That
allowed me to do the entire win98 install on the desktop PC.
After installing qemu, I used the following command to create the img file:
qemu-img create win98.img 1G
Then I used the following command to install windows from a win98 ISO created from an original install disk.
qemu-system-i386 -localtime -cpu 486 -m 256 -cdrom d win98se.iso -boot d -hda win98.img
Doing
that resulted in a quick, clean, problem-free windows 98 install. It
bypassed all the Win98 installation problems I was having on the RPI.
And this works much better anyway since the desktop is a much faster PC
to work with.
After the win98 install, I took the resulting img
file and copied it over to the PI. And then I used these instructions to
get qemu running on the PI.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrq_VtrnhHE.
After qemu installed, I used the following command to run 98 on the RPI.
qemu -cpu 486 -m 256 -hda win98.img
It's
slow, but seems to work great. The only problem I have found is it does
not close cleanly. It always hangs on shutdown which means it always
does a scandisk when it restarts. If anyone has any ideas how to fix
that, I'd love to hear them.